Use COPY to remote database...

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
User avatar
Julie
Master
Master
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:29 pm

Use COPY to remote database...

Post by Julie » Tue May 29, 2012 3:04 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to load data via the COPY command from a local text file on one server to a remote server? When I try it I get an error saying that the file does not exist.

Code: Select all

[root@cognos]# vsql -h 10.255.10.100 -U dbadmin -c "copy dash_wh.region_dim from '/source/data/vertica_region_dim.txt' direct no escape null as '\N' exceptions '/source/data/vertica_region_dim.err';"
ERROR:  COPY: Could not open file /source/data/vertica_region_dim.txt for reading; No such file or directory
But the file does exist on the server I am running the vsql client!

Code: Select all

[root@cognos]# ls -lrt /source/data/vertica_region_dim.txt
-rw-rw-rw- 1 root root    19743515 May 29 09:19 vertica_region_dim.txt
Thanks,
Juliette

id10t
GURU
GURU
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Use COPY to remote database...

Post by id10t » Tue May 29, 2012 4:07 pm

COPY command works only on local machine, i.e. SOURCE DATA should be on same machine as EXECUTOR NODE, you can't use COPY via network.

User avatar
Julie
Master
Master
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: Use COPY to remote database...

Post by Julie » Tue May 29, 2012 4:51 pm

Bummer! That's ok. I'll just copy the files first then. Thanks, sKwa.
Thanks,
Juliette

jpcavanaugh
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:04 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Use COPY to remote database...

Post by jpcavanaugh » Thu May 31, 2012 7:23 pm

I would look to the scheduled function set for the next release of the product...

Post Reply

Return to “Vertica Data Load”