how to learn Vertica

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

kodakalla

how to learn Vertica

Post by kodakalla » Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:16 pm

Hi everyone,
this is my first post. As the subject says, I am new to Vertica. I would like to hear from you all on how to learn vertica.
1) I downloaded all vertica 7 manuals and started reading.
2) on safarionline, i see only one book on vertica (HP vertica essentials).
3) I found this forum today.

I have been working on oracle for more than 10 years and now want to learn vertica , start with development and may be DBA stuff too.
Thank You
Giri

NorbertKrupa
GURU
GURU

Re: how to learn Vertica

Post by NorbertKrupa » Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:59 pm

The first thing you need to familiarize yourself with is the architecture. This 12-page paper elegantly outlines how Vertica came to be from C-Store as well as other essential components of its architecture:
  • Design Overview
  • Projections
  • Join Indexes
  • Prejoin Projections
  • Encoding and Compression
  • Partitioning
  • Segmentation: Cluster Distribution
  • Read and Write Optimized Stores
  • Tuple Mover
  • Updates and Transactions
  • Epoch Management
  • Cluster Integrity
  • Query Operations
  • Automatic Physical Design
This will give you the foundation for understanding the platform. As far as the market, the platform is currently being used in finance, telco, retail, healthcare, energy, advertising, gaming, social media (Facebook & Twitter), and government industries. Vertica is becoming a replacement for OLAP platforms as well as other EDW's such as Oracle and Teradata. My first experience with Vertica was at a trading firm which provided real-time market data to traders.

You won't find much published material on this platform like there is for Oracle or SQL Server. The book you mentioned was the first that was actually released. You can read my review of it here.